Planning and Zoning Division

Located in the Department of Municipal Services, the Planning and Zoning Division consists of the Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Adjustment. To contact the Planning and Zoning Division, please call (201) 858-6075.

The Planning Board, made up of nine members, is guided by the powers and duties assigned to it by the municipal Land Use Law. The Board is responsible for:

  • Making and adopting the Master Plan
  • Administering the Land Subdivision Ordinance
  • Reviewing site plans
  • Approving conditional use applications
  • Preparing a municipal capital budget

The Zoning Board of Adjustment is comprised of seven members, and reviews all applications for construction or signage which do not meet the requirements of the zoning ordinance, limiting schedule or Bayonne Master Plan. Further responsibilities of the Board include:

  • Hearing and deciding appeals in the enforcement of the Zoning Code
  • Hearing and deciding requests in interpretation of the Zoning Code
  • Ruling on applications for variances
  • Granting variances to allow departure from land use regulations

Planning and Zoning Division Administrators





Suzanne T. Mack PPAICP

City Planner

(201) 858-6138

Lillian Glazewski

Land Use Administrator

(201) 858-6182

Donna M. Ward

Zoning Officer

(201) 858-6110