Oresko School of Bayonne Wins New Jersey F.I.R.E. Bowl Championship

The team from Nicholas Oresko School #14 in Bayonne has won the seventh annual statewide F.I.R.E. Bowl Challenge. Oresko School defeated a team from Jersey City in the F.I.R.E. Bowl play-off, which was held recently at Kean University.

The members of the winning team are Oresko School students Alexis Conn, Kenny Tarantino, Gerry Konn, and Althea Ato. Their coach is Science teacher Barbara DeBenedictis.

F.I.R.E. Bowl tests students’ knowledge of fire safety issues and procedures. The process for the competition began last November, when students in participating communities received study booklets to prepare for the 2012 F.I.R.E. Bowl. Seventeen schools from six New Jersey municipalities participated. There are local F.I.R.E. Bowl committees in Bayonne, Belleville, Camden, Carteret, Freehold, and Jersey City. Students spent about five months preparing for the first round of the competition, which was a written test administered in April. Teams from Jersey City and Oresko School in Bayonne emerged the top two in the state. They met for a play-off this month at the Little Theater of Kean University. The moderator of the event was Tony Caputo, a correspondent for News 12 New Jersey.

Bayonne Mayor Mark A. Smith said, “On behalf of the entire Bayonne community, I would like to congratulate the students of Oresko School #14 on their statewide victory in the F.I.R.E. Bowl competition. The team members have demonstrated that Bayonne students are capable of great things.”

Public Safety Director Jason O’Donnell, a career firefighter, said, “The students of Oresko School #14 and their colleagues from around the state became fire safety experts during their months of F.I.R.E. Bowl preparations. I would like to congratulate the winning team from Oresko School #14, the second-place team from Jersey City, and all of the other teams for their hard work and devotion.”

Bayonne Fire Chief Gregory Rogers said, “I consider myself the proudest Fire Chief in the State. The partnership between the Bayonne Fire Department and the Bayonne Board of Education, coupled with the hard work of our students and staff members, has led us to victory once again. And, of course, the ultimate victory is being a community of knowledgeable, fire-safe students and citizens.”

F.I.R.E. Bowl is sponsored by the New Jersey State Firemen’s Benevolent Association (FMBA), Hartz Mountain Industries, Joshua Marcus Group Promotions, and IMTT Bayonne.

F.I.R.E. Bowl Champions: The F.I.R.E. Bowl team from Nicholas Oresko School #14 of Bayonne has won the statewide F.I.R.E. Bowl championship. The Bayonne students defeated a team from Jersey City in the seventh annual F.I.R.E. Bowl Challenge play-off that took place this month at Kean University in Union.

Pictured left to right: Moderator Tony Caputo (News 12 New Jersey), Dan De Trolio (Public Education Advisory Council Chairman, New Jersey Division of Fire Safety), Alexis Conn (Bayonne team winner), Kenny Tarantino (Bayonne team winner), Gerry Konn (Bayonne team winner), Althea Ato (Bayonne team winner), Barbara DeBenedictis (team coach, Nicholas Oresko School #14), and Chris Czuba (Fire Official, Bayonne Fire Prevention Bureau).